Skip to main content
Contact Us

Henry Townley Heald Award Collection, 1977-2000

Identifier: 032.06.04

Miscellaneous manuscript materials concerning the Henry Townley Heald Award which was created by Illinois Institute of Technology to honor the university's first president. Collection includes a short history of the Award, correspondence to Muriel Heald (Mrs. Henry Heald) concerning the design of the award, information about recipients, photos, invitations, etc. Also included are two photos -- one of the award which was designed by Bruno Conterato, Frederic Roberton, Art Paul, and Dietmar R. Winkler; and one of four men (with the award) identified as Arthur Paul, Lewis W. Hill, Harold Bergen, and Bruce Conterato.


  • Creation: 1977-2000


Language of Materials

Records are in English.

Conditions Governing Access

Available for Research

Collection Size

1 Folders

Biographical / Historical

IIT's alumni association created the Henry Townley Heald Award in 1977 to honor the memory of the first president of Illinois Institute of Technology. It is given to the individual who unsparingly commits his or her efforts to the public good. The award was designed by Jan Lorenc, an IIT alumnus who earned his bachelor's and master's degrees from IIT's Institute of Design.

Past award winners include R. Buckminster Fuller (1977), Edward Teller (1978), Lowell J. Thomas (1979), Reginald H. Jones (1981), Jonas Salk, M.D. (1982 ), The Honorable John Jay McCloy (1983 ), William R. Hewlett (1984), Rear Admiral Grace Hopper (1985), Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1986), Peter W. Schultz '52 (1987), Dr. Simon Ramo (1988), Dr. Arnold O. Beckman (1989), H. Ross Perot (1990), The Honorable Donald H. Rumsfeld (1992 ), R. E. (Ted) Turner (1993), Kazuo Inamori (1995), Robert W. Galvin (1996), Daniel S. Goldin (1997), James D. Watson (1999), Leon Lederman (2000) John Bryan (2005), Lewis "Lew" Collens (2007), John A.Canning, Jr. (2011), John W. Rowe (2013).

Physical Location



The historical essay which began this collection was apparently written by and sent to Galvin Library in 1989 by Valerie Conn, Executive Director of the President's Council. DVD of 2013 award to John Rowe formerly 2013.023.

Related Material

1989.003 Henry T. Heald Award Collection, 1998.178 Serial publication: "Inside", 1999.018 IIT Publications Collection, 1999.030 James Watson Collection, 2001.020 Lewis ("Lew") Collens Papers, 2003.011 Films Collection, 2007.053 Mies van der Rohe Society Collection, 1998.199 Unprocessed Photos, See also, possible collections on each awardee.


Catherine Bruck, University Archivist 12/22/1998

Part of the Paul V. Galvin Library. University Archives and Special Collections Repository

35 West 33rd Street
Chicago IL 60616
(312) 567-5993

Paul V. Galvin Library

35 West 33rd Street | Chicago, IL | 60616