Skip to main content
Contact Us

Hall of Fame collection, 1980-2019

Identifier: 017.01.01

Materials related to Hall of Fame induction ceremonies of 1981, 2002 and 2015. Folder 1 contains an invitation to the induction ceremony for 1981, which honored inductees Marvin Camras, William F. Finkl, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Weymouth H. Kirkland, Thomas J. Moran, Donald Frederick Othmer, Harris Perlstein, and Dorothy Thompson. A booklet published in 1980 includes brief biographies on each Hall of Fame member. Folder 2 includes printed materials related to the May 21, 2002 dinner event hosted by Illinois Institute of Technology to induct Robert Galvin and Robert Pritzker into the IIT Hall of Fame. The collection includes the program, menu, and a souvenir book titled "Hall of Fame: Honoring Bob Pritzker and Bob Galvin." The book contains a timeline history of IIT with emphasis on the mens' connections to the university since the school's founding in 1940. The book includes biographical entries on Pritzker, Galvin and the other 49 men and women in the Hall of Fame. Also included is the wrapping from a packet of M & Ms given to each guest. The packets were decorated with a sticker using the Marmon Group and Motorola, Inc. logos to represent the "M & M," in recognition of Mayari Pritzker and Mary Galvin (spouses of inductees). Folder 3 includes a booklet for the program honoring Bob Pritzker and Bob Galvin, 2002. It also includes a booklet for the induction program from 2015 honoring David Boder, Martin Cooper, Phyllis Lambert, Abraham Marovitz, and Susan Solomon.


  • Creation: 1980-2019
  • Creation: 2002


Language of Materials

Records are in English.

Conditions Governing Access

Available for Research

Collection Size

3 Folders

Biographical Note

The Illinois Institute of Technology Hall of Fame program was reinstituted in 2002 having previously run from 1980-1984 as an annual event to recognize outstanding individuals connected to Illinois Institute of Technology. The 1980-1984 inductees were mostly living at the time of their induction. The 2002 program was planned as a means of adding to the Hall deceased individuals who were of particular significance as founders or early faculty of IIT, its predecessors and affiliated schools. A second intention of the 2002 program was to recognize Robert Pritzker and Robert Galvin (major donors and trustees) as founders of IIT for the 21st century. They were the only living inductees for 2002 and the guests of honor at the dinner event held at the Ritz-Carleton Hotel on May 21, 2002.


Combination of formerly 2002.030 and materials from 1998.130

Related Material

1998.241 Hall of Fame Collection, 2002.019 Tribute 2 Bob Collection, 2003.003 Hall of Fame Collection, 2000.031 Challenge Campaign Collection, 2001.029 2001.029 2001.029 Challenge Campaign Collection, 2001.049 Challenge Grant Collection, 2004.025 Challenge Campaign Collection


Catherine Bruck, University Archivist 7/23/2002

Part of the Paul V. Galvin Library. University Archives and Special Collections Repository

35 West 33rd Street
Chicago IL 60616
(312) 567-5993

Paul V. Galvin Library

35 West 33rd Street | Chicago, IL | 60616